July Classroom Session
Classes begin July 8 and will conclude July 27.
Note: The final day will be held on Saturday, July 27.
Classes meet Monday through Friday from 10:00am to 12:00 noon.
October Classroom Session
Our fall schedule will be announced soon. Check back soon!
Classes meet Monday through Friday from 7:00pm to 9:00pm.
July/August Classroom Session
Classes begin July 15 and will conclude August 3.
Note: The final day will be held on Saturday, August 3.
Classes meet Monday through Friday from 6:00pm to 8:00pm.
Interested in online classroom education? Tye’s Driving School has partnered with Aceable.com. Click the logo below for more information.
Nov./Dec. Classroom Session
Classes begin Nov. 12 and will conclude Dec. 13.
Classes meet Monday through Thursday from 6:30pm to 8:30pm.
Note: Classes will not meet during Thanksgiving Break (Nov. 19-23), but students can schedule behind-the-wheel lessons during that time.
Note: Instructor Taught Online Education through Aceable.com is only available as Block Instruction. Students must complete all 32 hours of classroom instruction before obtaining their permit.
Owner & Lead Instructor
Q: How old must my child be to enroll in driver education?
A: Your child must be 14 years of age to enroll in the classroom instruction portion of driver
education. They must wait until they are 15 years old to be eligible for their permit.
Q: How many hours of classroom instruction are required?
A: Texas requires 32 hours of classroom instruction for teen drivers under the age of 18.
Q: When can my child get their permit?
A: After the first six hours of classroom instruction (the first three class sessions), students
will be eligible to get their permit.
Q: How many hours of behind-the-wheel instruction are required?
A: Texas requires 14 hours of behind-the-wheel training. 7 of these hours are spent driving
and 7 hours are for student observation.
Q: What if my child completed an online course? Can I still sign up for behind-the-wheel
A: Absolutely! If your child already has their permit, we’d be happy to assist in behind-the-
Q: If my child completes the 32 hour classroom instruction and 14 hour behind-the-wheel
training, will they be eligible to earn their license?
A: Not quite. In addition to the instruction and training required by the state, an additional
30 hours of practice with a parent/tutor must be completed. Your child must also
complete the Impact Texas Teen Drivers online course.
Q: What are the requirements for adult driver education?
A: Adults aged 18-24 are required to complete classroom instruction. They may choose the
traditional 32 hour course or complete a 6 hour adult-only course. (We currently offer
the 6 hour adult-only course through Aceable.com) There are no behind-the-wheel
requirements. Adults over the age of 25 do not have any classroom or behind-the-wheel
requirements, but we’d be happy to help craft custom instruction packages for drivers of
Q: Do you offer Defensive Driving courses?
A: We offer Defensive Driving through Aceable.com.